Meet one of the locals

echidna

Bushwalking in the area is excellent, with many tracks and little roads leading who knows where. Here are some pics taken this week by my neighbour whom I sometimes walk with. When the echidnas start to move, so do the snakes. Walkers beware!

wallaby

Look carefully and you will see the wallaby looking back. Just before jumping off, most likely. If you see any wildlife, just enjoy the encounter. They will want to get away from you as fast as they can. If you have dogs, keep them on a lead. Even if you think your dog is reliable, it may well give chase and that could be the last you see of it. My neighbour also came across a dog which looked well cared for but totally lost. What did the wild animals do to deserve that in their forest, I ask? Keep them leashed. Natives get easily stressed.

wombat

And a wombat, looking endearing. You can very easily tell if there are wombats around by their scats. They are SQUARE. Yup, no kidding. How this is possible, I have no idea. You will see little piles everywhere. My neighbour tells me this is how they mark their territory. They will defend it, too. I feel I need a special soundtrack to wombats, they are kind of lumbering. Dum-ti-dum-ti-dum-ti-dum… Just crossing the path here, dum-ti-dum-ti-dum. Did you know the wombat pouch is back to front? This is so that when they dig, the joeys don’t get a pocket full of dirt. Dum-ti-dum-ti-dum…

wombat2

I have learnt something very interesting about wombats. As they are prey to dingos (and wild dogs) they have a defence which actually kills the dingos. Here’s how: The dingo chases the wombat. The wombat runs for its lair, and slips in but waits just inside, rock hard backside to the entrance. Dingo arrives, sticks head in, the wombat crushes the head of the dingo towards the roof of the lair but quickly lifting its rear up to the lair roof, and there it is, dead dingo. Then they push the dingo out and sometimes drape it across the top of the lair as a warning to other dingos. Incredible. I hope it is true, I read it on the internet and I might just be perpetrating a myth. A good story, either way. I like to think they can protect themselves as they are so wonderful.

