A miniature landscape

In the bathroom is a three door metal locker I picked up at a garage sale and cleaned up.  The bottom shelf I intend to keep as shelf, but the top two will be installations of some kind. I am making a landscape with water, rocks and snowladen pine trees in the first one. When I am done, I will cover the front with plexiglass.  Here are some of the trees:

installation1

They are made with a skewer, some teased out felt, some scouring pads, a little steel wool, black spraypaint and green and black railway modelling flocking (comes in small bags, great stuff) which gets attached with sprayglue. They look convincing enough for the purpose. There is NOT a railway model nerd inside me at all… I just like making things. I have built up the landscape with papier mache, some gunky filler, some paint. Right now I am experimenting with the water. Will clear gloss acrylic medium look like water trickling over rock when it dries? I will find out today, as I squirted some on a couple of days ago and it was white, plus it dissolved some of the underpaint as it went on, making it look cerulean blue which is weird as the underpainting is mainly grey. Could be a disaster, will see when I look at it.

