A miniature landscape version 2

Fast forward several months from whenever I posted the image of pinetrees stuck in foam. I am done with the miniatures for now. I have a built in set of old metal lockers in the bathroom. There are three, two are landscapes, sort of. The third locker is just for general storage. Bath salts. There is a plexiglass cover at the front of the landscapes.

miniature 7Here is the top landscape, hard to see and needs a better picture really. The rock is sitting in a pool of resin resembling water, reflecting the dalmatian. Clouds are 3D. They are really not very great at all, but I have thrown my hands in the air at this miniature now and am leaving it alone. Here they are.

miniature 8

They are painted in the background, and fluffy in the air. Well, that was the idea anyway. Basically I just teased out some insulation and glued it into place.

The second miniature I have put a lot of glorious time into. I loved every minute.

miniature 1My initial idea was to place a tiny white dog on a bald rock, turning his back on the audience. Tall dark trees, a light covering of snow. Solitary, but not lonely. As it turned out, I came across some tiny sheep and used them instead so now the point is entirely lost. It is sheep, looking into the frozen waterfall. Means whatever you want it to mean. Cold sheep?

miniature 4miniature 2The frozen waterfall. It is really layers of squeezed on acrylic gloss medium. I want to cover the world in acrylic gloss medium. Well, nothing could be further from the truth but it provided me with hours of amusement.

miniature 5Here we can see how tiny the sheep are. I had to use tweezers to get them there.

There are some astounding artists who spend their time doing this kind of thing. These were my first attempts and I am hooked. Have a look at the art of Thomas Doyle, for instance. Disconcerting, amazing.

