Quilting – still…

quilt2These two singles were not quite done in a week. I was sidetracked by a few other things, but still, they are pretty fast. The room they are destined for is very green and grey so I felt a rich colour would be the best thing. I bought some shot cotton again, all the same colour with some black leaves. Like autumn in reverse. I saw an early American quilt in similar colours, only it had lines of black elephants with white tusks in regimented lines sewn on. I loved it but I believe some guests will think it is a ”children’s quilt” if I was to sew that, so am going for leaves instead. Leaves are for everyone, right? Elephants is only for other elephants.

Before I started, I washed all the fabric. You want it to shrink now, not when you are done.

I went for the same sashiko stitch as in the queen sized quilt for a large centre panel.quilt12See my blogpost about the queen sized quilt about how to do this, if you want. It is great to do.

Then I added my elephants with black stitching, with white stitching for the detail. The stem is a little piece of black yarn stitched on with black thread and tucked in under the leaf.

quilt8The pieces around the centre are all the same, simple speedy linework. You only need to rule out two lines, to get you going in the direction you want. After that, just follow and try to stay on the course. Hard, but doesn’t matter. I went veering a bit but that’s ok. If you have sewn before you will know how to do this, but I am sewing these in my open studio and I get questions from the public like ”are you ruling up all the lines?” Well, ermmm, nooo. I am just accepting unevenness in a slightly slap-dash fashion.

quilt11quilt9I made a couple of mistakes on these quilts, the worst one was that I didn’t buy quite enough cotton for the back. I joined scraps for the last corner, which actually worked just fine with closely cropped seams but would have preferred a whole piece. At least I didn’t have any waste.

quilt5When the outside panels are done, cut the back to size and tear strips for the trim.

quilt3Put the back on, trim with a red strip. For easy neat corners, do it like this when you get to a corner. If this doesn’t make sense, it will when you are doing it.

quilt6Then fold it back on itself, there’s a corner. Hooray.

quilt7I like to leave extra fabric at the base, to fold in after you insert the quilt. Add ties if you like on the open base panel – you are all done!quilt1

