Someone gave me a boat!

I have a neighbour of the best kind who knows everyone. When he saw me drawing a plan which called for an old boat he said he knew someone who might have a spare broken boat. They did! And not only that, they actually gave it to me. My neighbour now found himself facing my need to get said boat home, and he has a truck… This is what happens when you have a truck, people want you to put things on it.

In the front garden is a spot just behind the willow tree, tucked in behind hedges and ivy. No one goes there, as there is nothing to see or do. This is about to change! Presenting… My boat. A real beauty! It even has a mast, albeit not attached. The plan is to make something in the style of Monet’s boat, his floating studio which had a striped awning and a little hut at the back. Mine is smaller but I think I can achieve the general idea.

douard-manet-claude-monet-and-his-wife-in-his-floating-studio-1874Mine is remarkably similar… Graceful, I’d say. It’s had a good run of being on the water and now it is time for a new purpose.

monets boatmonets boat 4It even has a mast, but how to attach it puzzles me. This is the hole which clearly is meant for the mast, but how? It has to  get down deeper than a centimetre, surely.

monets boat 3  It is in rather poor condition. I pushed on the bow (that’s the pointy front of a boat) and it crumbled against my weight. Also, the bottom is totally gone. This is really not a problem for me, as I plan to lay a new wooden floor. But what will I attach it too? Is it all as bad as the floor and the sides and and and? The only good wood you can see here is the sleeper it is resting on.

monets boat 2For now it can sit and wait, could be a good spring time project. I drew some rough guidelines just in case I feel the need to go to the hardware sometime soon. I will do a new post when I have something to show, but it will take some time. Just too excited for now not to show the boat as it is!monets boat 5

