Swedish cut ginger biscuits

Another biscuit I sometimes make is Swedish cut gingerbread. Often, guests ask me for the recipe so now I can simply tell them to get it from here.

They are super easy to make, and the advantage for me is that I can make a massive amount and freeze the dough, then bake them in a matter of minutes whenever I want. In fact, you can only use the dough frozen as it will not cut otherwise.

Being a Swedish recipe, all measurements are in dl. 1 dl equals 100ml, 1000ml equals 1 litre. I usually make this recipe x4, which makes all the rolls you see below. I can never have enough!

2 dl almonds

200g butter, room temp

2 dl sugar

1 dl golden syrup

2 tsp ground ginger

2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tsp ground cloves

1 tsp bicarb

6 dl plain flour

Chop the almonds roughly. Mix butter and sugar, add golden syrup and the spices and bicarb. Add the chopped almonds and most of the flour, mix and add flour until the dough is not sticky but holds together well. It will look like this:

gingerbread2Form long rolls, wrap in foil, freeze at least overnight.

gingerbread1Cut frozen dough with a sharp knife into thin slices.

gingerbread3Bake at 175 degrees Celcius 7-10 minutes. Watch them, as they are very keen on going from uncooked to burnt in seconds. They are at their best with a bit of colour, just before they burn. Leave to cool on the oven tray and they will harden up. Only bake what you need, as they are best fresh!

gingerbread4

